Neil Parish to chair EFRA Committee

Neil Parish, the MP for Tiverton and Honiton in Devon, has been elected chairman of the cross party Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (EFRA) Select Committee of the House of Commons for the current Parliament. He succeeds Ann McIntosh in the role, after she retired from her Thirsk and Malton seat before the May general election.

Mr Parish, who has an interest in a west country family farm, was a member of the EFRA committees in the 2010-15 Parliament, as well as chairing the All-Party Parliamentary Groups for Dairy, Beef & Lamb and Eggs, Pig & Poultry.

Before his 2010 election to the House of Commons, Mr Parish spent 10 years as the Member of the European Parliament for the South West. In December 2001, he was appointed Conservative spokesman on agriculture and went on to chair the EP agriculture and rural development committee.

"Over the past five years, I have enjoyed being a member of the EFRA committee and look forward to helping make sure that issues concerning our countryside, environment, flooding and food security are properly dealt with,” he comments. “I also look forward very much to working with parliamentary colleagues across the parties to contribute to shaping policy in those areas."