Agricultural honours in New Year list

The New Year Honours list 2016 included people from all sections of the agricultural industry.  

The CBE went to Professor Nigel Gibbens, chief veterinary officer at Defra, for services to the veterinary profession and animal welfare, and Gerald Lavery, lately senior finance director at the Northern Ireland Executive’s Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, for services to the agri-food industry in Northern Ireland. 

The OBE was awarded to Stephen John Ashby, lately policy adviser at International Plant Health, for services to protecting plant health; John Christian Varley, estate director at Clinton Devon Estates in Devon, for services to agriculture, the environment and the rural community; and Ian Pigott, Hertfordshire farmer, founder of Open Farm Sunday and chairman of Farming and Countryside Education, for services to agricultural and countryside education. 

The MBE went to: Mary James for services to agriculture in Wales; John William Lockwood, honorary chairman of Lincolnshire Agricultural Society, for services to agriculture in Lincolnshire; Benjamin Anthony Parker, chairman of River Bourne Community Farm, for voluntary service to the community in Salisbury, Wiltshire; and Ella Daphne Tilley, farmer, for services to the food industry, particularly Welsh lamb. 

Canon Keith Cyril Ineson, agricultural chaplain and co-ordinator, Cheshire Farm Community Network, received a BEM, Medallist of the Order of the British Empire, for services to the farming community in Cheshire, as did Alan Stennett for services to the farming industry and broadcasting in Lincolnshire.

Posted on January 4, 2016 and filed under People.